Eagles Recall Akpeyi, Uzoho, Ezenwa, Nwakali on Standby for Sierra Leone Game

File photo: Coach of Nigeria's Super Eagles, Gernot Rohr.

Coach of Nigeria’s Super Eagles, Gernot Rohr, has recalled South Africa-based goalkeeper, Daniel Akpeyi, to his team for the qualifier match against Sierra Leone.

On standby are home-based goalkeeper, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Cyprus-based Francis Uzoho, and former Golden Eaglets captain, Kelechi Nwakali.

Rohr has also called up Captain Ahmed Musa, defender William Ekong, midfield enforcer Oghenekaro Etebo, and 21 others for the game.


2021 AFCON Qualifier Moved from Asaba to Benin on Technical Grounds – NFF

Victor Osimhen, the leading marksman who missed out of this month’s friendlies against Algeria and Tunisia, will return to the team just as midfielder Joseph Ayodele-Aribo and South Africa –based goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi.

Switzerland –based goalkeeper Sebastian Osigwe will hope to earn his first cap for Nigeria, while defenders Kevin Akpoguma and Zaidu Sanusi, who impressed in the friendlies in Austria, have been handed opportunities to add to their caps.

There are seven players on standby, including defender Abdullahi Shehu, Uzoho, Ramon Azeez and Samson Tijani, and forward Paul Onuachu.
The players lined up for the friendly match are:

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Sebastian Osigwe (FC Lugano, Switzerland); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands).

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim, Germany).


Nigeria Football Federation Gets FIFA’s $1m Palliative, $600, 000 Mini Stadia Fund

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasaray, Turkey); Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Twente, Netherlands); Frank Onyeka (FC Midtjylland, Denmark); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Unattached); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Emmanuel Dennis Bonaventure (Club Brugge, Belgium); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia).

Thenff.com stated that the players are expected to report at the Protea Hotel Emotan in Benin City on November 9.