Insecurity in Nigeria: President Buhari Replaces Service Chiefs

President Buhari presides over Maiden Edition of the Members of the Governing Board of National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure (NASENI) in State House on 26th Jan 2021

Amidst rising insecurity in Nigeria and the clamour by citizens for the sack of heads of the nation’s security agencies, President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.


Fire Razes Sunday Igboho House Days After Giving Fulanis Ultimatum to Leave Oyo

Presidency spokesman, Femi Adesina in a statement Tuesday afternoon said: “President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours”.

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.