Obaseki Wins Edo Guber Poll, Defeats Ize-Iyamu

Governor of Edo State and PDP Governorship Aspirant, Godwin Obaseki

Godwin Obaseki of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has defeated Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) to secure another four-year term as governor of Edo State.

Obaseki was returned elected after scoring highest number of votes in the Saturday poll, said the Returning Officer for Edo State governorship election, Akpofure Rim-Ruke.

He said the incumbent governor secured 307,955 of the total votes, 84,336 more votes than his closest rival Ize-Iyamu, who got 223,619 votes.

[Leaked Video] PDP to Buhari: Pull in Gambari, Oshiomhole for Questioning

The announcement by the returning officer was coming after the collation of the results from all the 18 local government areas of Edo State where the election was conducted.

Obaseki won in 13 local government areas, while Ize-Iyamu won in five local government areas of the state

More than 12 political parties fielded candidates for the election, but the election was keenly contested between PDP and APC.

Atiku Celebrates Obaseki’s Re-election, Describes Victory as Independence from Godfatherism

Ironically, Obaseki ran against Ize-Iyamu four years ago. The former was elected on APC platform after defecting the latter who ran on the platform of PDP. Obaseki decamped to PDP earlier this year after being denied APC ticket owing to intra-party politics.

Idowu Sowunmi