#Ondodecides2020: The Results that Handed Akeredolu Victory, Plus his Victory Speech [Video]


The just concluded Ondo Governorship Election result that handed Governor Rotimi Akeredolu a second term in office saw him outrightly winning a whooping 15 out of 18 local government areas in the state.

According to the Independent Electoral Commission, INEC’s, Chief Returning Officer for the election, Professor Idowu Olayinka, Akeredolu of the APC was returned as the governor-elect on Sunday at the office of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), in Akure.


#OndoDecides2020: Akeredolu Leads Jegede by 58,720 Votes From 15 LGs

Olayinka said “Having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes, I hereby declare Oluwarotimi Odunayo Akeredolu of the APC as the winner, and he is hereby returned elected.”

Candidate of the All Progressives Congress ,APC, Eyitayo Jegede won in the remaining three local governments.

In the breakdown of votes, Akeredolu of the All Progressives Congress got 292,830 votes, while Jegede of the Peoples Democratic Party had 195,791 votes and Agboola of the Zenith Labour Party had 69,127 votes.

Ondo Governorship Poll at a Glance


1 Ifedayo 9,350 11,852 1.863

2 Ile Oluji-Oke Igbo 13,278 9,231 1,971

3 Irele 12,643 5,493 5,904

4 Akoko North East 16,572 8,380 3,532

5 Akoko South West 21,232 15,055 2,775

6 Akoko North West 15,809 10,320 3,477

7 Ondo East 6,484 4,049 3,221

8 Owo 35,957 5,311 408

9 Akure North 9,546 12,263 1,046

10 Idanre 11,286 7,499 3,623

11 Akoko South East 9,419 4,003 2,004

12 Akure South 17,277 47,627 2,236

13 Ose 15,122 8,421 1,083

14 Ondo West 15,97760 10,627 10,159

15 Okitipupa 19,266 10,367 10,120

16 Ese Odo 13,383 4,680 4,760

17 Ilaje 26,657 11,128 4,405

18 Odigbo 23,571 9,485 6,540

TOTAL 292,829 195,791 69,127


#OndoDecides2020: PDP Candidate, Jegede Expressed disappointment Over Conduct of Security Officers at Poll

In his victory speech, Governor Akeredolu recognised Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, for his forthrightness as Chairman of the APC Ondo Governorship Campaign.

Winner of the now concluded Ondo Governorship election and Incumbent Governor, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu and his wife, surrounded by supporters including the Chairman, APC Ondo Governorship Election Campaign, who is Governor of Lagos, Babajide Sanwo-Olu (3rd from left); immediate past Governor of Ògùn State, Senator Ibukunle Amosun; Governor of Kogi, Yahaya Bello (2nd from right); Governor of Ekiti, Kayode Fayemi (3rd from right) and others.

Equally, he appreciated the support of his other colleagues, Osun Governor, Gboyega Oyetola; Kogi Governor, Yahaya Bello; Ekiti Governor, Kayode Fayemi; Jigawa Governor, Mohammed Abubakar and Kebbi Governor, Abubakar Bagudu.

Akeredolu, who was apparently elated by his victory, also expressed his gratitude to immediate past Governor of Ogun State, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, who was also on ground in Akure.

Video: Oluwarotimi Akeredolu’s Victory Speech