Buhari names train stations after prominent Nigerians, Awolowo, Soyinka, Ekweume, others

File Photo of Nigeria's President Muhammadu Buhari.

Nigeria’s President, Muhammadu Buhari has named railway stations across the country  after some prominent Nigerians citizens including late former Premier of Western Region, Obafemi Awolowo, Wole Soyinka, Nobel Laureate, Vice Yemi Osinbajo.

According to a statement by the Director of Press of the Transportation Ministry, Eric Ojiekwe, on Monday, also listed is the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Bola Tinubu and the Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola.

The selected prominent Nigerians described as ‘deserving’ by President Buhari’s definition contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large.

The Minister of transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, stated that the president approved the naming of stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and Itakpe/Ajaokuta/ Aladja/Warri corridors after the deserving Nigerians.

In the statement, Kajola Station is named after Vice President Osinbajo, Apapa station was named after Bola Ahmed Tinubu, while Agege Station is named after Minister of Works and Housing, Fashola.

Other notable Nigerians named after train station include Lateef Jakande (Agbado station), Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto station), Wole Soyinka (Abeokuta station), Aremo Segun Osoba (Olodo station) Ladoka Akintola (Omio-Adio station) Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station) and Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre).

President Buhari had only recently approved the naming of the Railway Complex in Agbor after former President Goodluck Jonathan.